facebook twitter youtube
Ukrainian (UA)Русский (Russian Federation)English (United Kingdom)
"International Economic Relations"


SSU students' visit to Sumy Chamber of Commerce and Industry

At the end of November students of specialties "International Economics" and "International Economic Relations" Balatsky ASI FEM visited Sumy Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Participation in the conference "Poland-Ukraine: Neighbors and Partners"

November 10, students and lecturers of the Economic Theory Department took part in the popular conference "Poland - Ukraine: Neighbors and Partners" dedicated to the days of Poland in Sumy, held at the Congress Center of the Sumy State University.

Trading game for schoolchildren "International trade"

Lecturers from Economic Theory Department organized the world-famous international trading game on "International Trade" for students of the Minor Academy of Sciences.


The history of the Economic Theory Department

Department of Economic theory was founded September, 1, 1981 as the Department of Philosophy and Political Economy through the allocation of the Marxism-Leninism department. Since March, 1, 1989 the department was reorganized into the political economy. April, 20, 1993 it was renamed into the Department of Economics. Since May 1992, the Department of Economic Theory is part of the Department of Economics, which in August 2001 was renamed into the Faculty of Economics and Management.

During different years the department had such heads:

• Panov M.E. (01.09.1981 – 31.01.1991);

• Sadoviy V.A. (01.02.1991 – 19.11.1992, and 02.01.2007 – 31.05.2009);

• Bondarenko V.F. (20.11.1992 – 25.06.2001);

• Krapivniy I.V. (01.07.2001 31.12.2006).

Since June, 1, 2009, the department is headed by Doctor of Economics, Professor Olga Volodymyrivna Prokopenko.